Web Worker – San Diego Style!

5 09 2006

Om Malik and the GigaOM crew are at it with Web Worker Daily, a new blog about the laptop-toting, web enabled world of Bedouins. I really like this creation – something with an obvious need and a potential following with legitimate concern to care about the content.

Understandably, the blog is focused large on the city of San Francisco, with one Seattle mention I could find.

Fair enough, but I think San Diego can hold its own in its new culture. It might trade its horn rimmed glasses for flip-flops, but San Diego accommodates. Who doesn’t want freedom when the weather accommodates a truly endless summer?

Its ‘web’ start-up culture is a little slower than either SF or Seatown, but that is something I’d like to be a part of changing. People love living here (drink it in). In a world where the creative class is rising, it’s important to carefully blur the line between fun and business, something this new class of people are some of the best at doing.

Workaholism probably isn’t as pervasive here. That’s not to say that we don’t know when to buckle down and get things done, but San Diegans would probably be more likely to than San Franciscans or Seattleites to work hard in the morning, then go for a quick surf session in the mid-to-late afternoon.

So, I’d love to hear your favorite spots. Feel free to say ‘hi’ to me if you have find me hanging around some of these haunts. I’ll start with a just a couple quick spots for now that I’d like to expand on as we go:

Influx Cafe. I’ve already done a quick write-up here on this Golden Hill, trendily decorated coffeshop with free wireless Internet courtesy of SoCal FreeNet.

Pannikin Cafe. More of a old-style coffee shop, Pannikin Cafe is more likely to host what (from what I can tell) retired and rich La Jollans that the netset. But it’s a nice, quiet garden environment when you want that, just down the street from my house… and that I’m at right now!

7467 Girard Ave

La Jolla, CA 92037

Cafe MoJoe. Again, just down the street, this is a small, unassuming coffee shop that is surprisingly one of the few with reliable, free WiFi across both La Jolla and San Diego. They seem to be changing ownership a few too many times, but hopefully it settles down as this is a nice friendly place to get some free WiFi and your caffeine and sweets (smoothies, blended drinks, desserts and such).

7513 La Jolla Boulevard

La Jolla, CA 92037

Actions

Information

2 responses

6 09 2006
elan

that’s funny, I just stumbled upon your blog and I’m software guy who lives right around the block from you. maybe we’ll run into each other at Pannikin.

elan

6 09 2006
rodgerv

Hi Elan,

Thanks for the comment. It’s great to hear from San Diego web workers – I hope we can assemble many similar thinking people to organize groups sometime soon.

Sign up for a Beta invite on my start-up iLetYou at http://www.iletyou.com. You’ll see me hard at work at various San Diego spots I’m sure :-).

Cheers,

Rodger

Leave a Reply

