Eerie fires in the place I called home

23 10 2007

Within my first couple months of moving to San Diego, I witnessed ash rain down and blanket everything like snow from a snowstorm.

Probably the best description is it brings about a sense of eeriness that the place I called home just a month and a half ago is in the middle of another huge firestorm, a disaster that’s called for around 300,000 to evacuate from their homes and may not have yet seen its worst days. I’m glad I’m not living in the middle of a fire, but feel an odd sense of obligation to help if help were needed as San Diego still feels like home.

Disasters do happen unfortunately, but a fortunate reality is that these fires will lay the groundwork for future assessments. My hope is that San Diego comes out the stronger for it, but that’s for another day.

Today for those who call Southern California home, my best wishes and prayers go out to everyone affected.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

